Till startsida
To content Read more about how we use cookies on gu.se


The Faculty of Science is one of eight faculties at the University of Gothenburg.

The Faculty of Science consists of seven departments. The faculty's highest governing body is the Faculty Board. The Faculty Board is responsible for research, education and collaboration. Within the framework provided by the University Board and the Vice Chancellor the Faculty Board also decides on the main focus, governance and internal organization of the activities.

The Departments are directed by the Head of Department (prefekt). The Head of Department is appointed by the Dean who is in charge of the faculty's overall operations towards the Vice-Chancellor. To support the Dean there is a Management Team.


Göran HilmerssonGöran Hilmersson,

Professor in Organic Chemistry

Contact information for Göran Hilmersson


Ingela DahllöfIngela Dahllöf,

Professor in Environmental Sciences.

Responsible for third cycle education.

Contact information for Ingela Dahllöf

Assistant Deans

Per Åberg

Per ÅbergProfessor at Depart­ment of Marine Sciences.

Responsible for first and second cycle education.

Contact information for Per Åberg

Rebecka Jörnsten

Rebecka JörnstenProfessor at the Depart­ment of Math­ematical Sciences.

Responsible for research and faculty-shared infrastructure

Contact information for Rebecka Jörnsten

Torbjörn Lundh

Associate professor Department of Mathematical Sciences.

Responsible for cooperation, internationalization and innovation from January 1 2019.

Contact information for Torbjörn Lundh

  • Faculty Board

    The faculty's highest governing body is the Faculty Board.

    The Board is responsible for strategic planning, overall management and quality assurance of education, research and cooperation. In addition, the Board provides a forum for discussion and coordination of the activities at the Faculty.



    The Faculty Board comprises the following members:  

    • Göran Hilmersson, Department of Chemistry and Molecular Biology, Dean and Professor
    • Ingela Dahllöf, Department of Biology and Environmental Sciences, Pro-Dean and Professor
    • Katarina Abrahamsson, Department of Marine Sciences
    • Marica Ericson, Department of Chemistry and Molecular Biology
    • Raimund Feifel, Department of Physics
    • Olle Häggström, Department of Mathematical Sciences
    • Agneta Johnsson, Department of Conservation and Department of Earth Sciences
    • Johan Uddling Fredin, Department of Biological and Environmental Sciences
    • Hans Linderholm, Department of Earth Sciences
    • Ingalill Nyström, Department of Conservation

    Student representatives:

    • Felix Bravell
    • Micaela Maurin
    • Greger Hammarin
    • Christer Edvardsson (substitute)

    Representative of public interests with the right to attend and express their views:

    • Beritte Christenson, AstraZeneca
    • Annette Mitiche, Center för skolutveckling, Göteborgs stad

    Union representatives with the right to attend and express their views:

    • Cecilia Andreasson, OFR-S ST-ATF
    • Maria Nordqvist, SACO
    • Lars Nordvall, SEKO


    • Martin Wiik Johansson

    More information about the Faculty board

  • Dean's Council

    The Dean's Council is advisory to the Dean. And it is a forum for discussion of matters concerning the faculty as a whole.

    The Dean's Council is stipulated in the University's Rules of Procedure. 


    Members of the Dean's Council are:

    • Heads of Department,
    • Head of Faculty Office 
    • A student representative.

    The Pro-Dean and Assistant Deans will also participate, as well as the Head of Public Relations. The Dean is chairperson.

    Deputy Head of Department participates in the Council when Head of the Department is unable to attend.

    List of Heads of Department.


  • Steering Group

    To support the Dean there is a Management Team.




    • Dean
    • Pro-Dean
    • Assistant Deans
    • Head of Faculty Office
Page Manager: Erika Hoff|Last update: 6/29/2018

The University of Gothenburg uses cookies to provide you with the best possible user experience. By continuing on this website, you approve of our use of cookies.  What are cookies?